Boccherini is back!

After almost two years of researches and hard work, I can finally say it:

Boccherini is back!

It was mid-2019 when I first saw the video of Thibaut Reznicek playing a piece simply called “Sonata en Si bemol” by Luigi Boccherini. Fascinated by his (and his partners’) playing, I contacted him to congratulate myself on the performance and the discovery and to inquire on whether this was already published. A still ongoing pandemic and two years forward and here I am, proudly announcing the release of this new edition of this Sonata in B-flat major by Boccherini. The engraving and editing process was a long and difficult one, so I hope you will appreciate the efforts and enjoy playing this new musical gem.

This Sonata follows the Classical Sonata three-movement form, beginning with a Moderato assai, continuing with a lyrical Largo, and concluding with a spirited Minuetto. Thibaut found it in a collection of pieces in manuscript form in the Conservatoir Superieure National de Musique in Paris, while he was studying for his Master of Music degree there. The story of this unearthing and of how this piece may have gotten into the CNSM’s library is worthy of an Agatha Christie’s novel, and parts of it are still shrouded in mystery.

A full account is available in the preface of this edition, so this is just a teaser.

On the edition

Following my usual routine, I am releasing this Sonata with a full score—whose page-turns should work for live performances—, an unmarked cello part which is the closest to an Urtext version you will be able to find, an annotated cello part with Thibaut’s fingering and bowing suggestions and a basso part. In the video linked above, the Sonata is performed with a full basso continuo, that is, with a cello and a harpsichord. Since Boccherini did not leave a numbered basso line, nor a piano part, we agreed upon respecting the composer’s will. Any skilled continuist will be able to use the basso line to realise an appropriate accompaniment.

Launch Party

The edition will be available on Gumroad at this link, starting today!

If you follow me (which you should really do, click here!)you will receive a free copy of the first page of the cello part, alongside a 10% discount if you will decide to purchase the full edition during the launch period (until the end of 2021). The discount code will reach you via e-mail shortly after you subscribe to the link above.

Thank you for all your ongoing support, it means the world to me!

I hope you and your dear one are well and healthy and I wish all of you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year 2022!

Published by Michele Galvagno

Professional Musical Scores Designer and Engraver Graduated Classical Musician (cello) and Teacher Tech Enthusiast and Apprentice iOS / macOS Developer Grafico di Partiture Musicali Professionista Musicista classico diplomato (violoncello) ed insegnante Appassionato di tecnologia ed apprendista Sviluppatore iOS / macOS

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: